Polybios plugin embedded in executable but sometimes required

Discuss PDF file handling with the Polybios plugin here
Post Reply
domenikov
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 10:27 pm

Polybios plugin embedded in executable but sometimes required

Post by domenikov » Sat Feb 09, 2019 11:26 pm

I wrote program "Crono", who can be found on Aminet and OS4 depot. It generates calendars in PDF format. I tested it under systems with and without Polybios installed. All worked fine for me, so I released program. But, I readen users comments (one on OS4 depot, another by email sent to me) who report problems. Error reported is "This program requires polybios.hwp!". Both users have Polybios installed. In my source code, Polybios is embedded, in order to have an independent executable. Line of code is:

@REQUIRE "polybios"

What went wrong? I mistaked in embedding Polybios, or there is something who I don't saw?

Tipsi
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 6:06 pm

Re: Polybios plugin embedded in executable but sometimes required

Post by Tipsi » Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:28 am

Hollywood manual, 2.1 Overview, Plugins (PDF Page 10):

"When distributing a compiledHollywood program, plugins required
by your program must simply be put into the samedirectory as your
program."

Griessli
Tipsi

SamuraiCrow
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 5:15 pm
Location: Ft. Collins, Colorado USA

Re: Polybios plugin embedded in executable but sometimes required

Post by SamuraiCrow » Sun Feb 10, 2019 7:47 pm

Embedded plugins aren't supposed to need that file externally, however.

User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 3185
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Polybios plugin embedded in executable but sometimes required

Post by airsoftsoftwair » Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:43 pm

Just doing a

Code: Select all

@REQUIRE "polybios"
won't embed the plugin in the executable. You need to do this instead:

Code: Select all

@REQUIRE "polybios", {Link = True}

domenikov
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Polybios plugin embedded in executable but sometimes required

Post by domenikov » Mon Feb 18, 2019 12:46 pm

Now it works. Thank you very much!!!

amyren
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu May 02, 2019 11:53 am

Re: Polybios plugin embedded in executable but sometimes required

Post by amyren » Sat May 04, 2019 5:31 pm

I can not get that to work for me.

The RNOPDF is available as freeware on aminet, and comes complete with source.
The Aminet release (os3 fpu version) of RNOPDF does require polybios.hwp in its program path.
If I try to launch the executable without the polybios.hws it will prompt about this.
But also it does require the polybios.ext file, or else it will fail upon loading a pdf file.

I installed the plugin and the linkerplugin to try to compile a linked version of RNOPDF for OS3_FPU
It does compile without errors.

Launching the executable on the Amiga, now it will not complain about requiring polybios.hws
But when trying to open a pdf file and it will not work, but will prompt "error opening file".

I also did try compiling it for windows_x64, and there it works well without the polybios.hwp

The polybios.ext file does only exist for the Amiga, and is not present in the windows plugin.
Could it be that the polybios.ext also should be linked in a way?

User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 3185
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Polybios plugin embedded in executable but sometimes required

Post by airsoftsoftwair » Sat May 04, 2019 5:43 pm

Polybios.ext will never be linked and must always be present on AmigaOS and compatibles. See here: viewtopic.php?f=31&t=1993

Post Reply