yet another sinus scroller question

Discuss any general programming issues here
phipslk

yet another sinus scroller question

Post by phipslk »

Hi,
I am new to Hollywood and tried to make a sinus scroller. my code seems to work but it's hell to fast... How to slow down? Wait(x) doesn't help, it keeps flickering.

Code: Select all

; sinus scroller

@DISPLAY 1, {width = 360, height = 284}

t$ = 	" * Hi everybody! *                   " ..
	"This is a first try of coding a demo with HOLLYWOOD-MAL "..
	" and it looks quite nice, doesn't it?   "

tlen = StrLen(t$)
charx=360
x = 360
;y = 200
y = {}

For i = 1 To tlen
	CreateTextObject(i,MidStr(t$,i,1))
Next
For i = 1 To 360
	y[i]= Sin(i*50) * 20 + 200
Next

Function sine_scroll()
	Cls()
	For i = 1 To tlen
		DisplayTextObject(i,x+(i*8),y[charx])
;		y[tlen+1]=y[i]
;		RemoveItem(y,0)
;		y = Sin(i) * 100 + 200		
		charx = charx - 1
		If charx <= 1 Then charx = 360
	Next

x = x - 1
	If x <= -tlen*8 Then x= 360
	Flip
EndFunction

EscapeQuit(True)
BeginDoubleBuffer()

SetInterval(1,sine_scroll,1000/25)
Repeat
	WaitEvent
Forever

plouf

Re: yet another sinus scroller question

Post by plouf »

isnt obvius ?
SetInterval(1,sine_scroll,1000/25) -> SetInterval(1,sine_scroll,1000/12)

However take a look also in cracktros demos from downloads, has some better programming techniques

also checkout CreateFont() new in v10 , its very usefull for these type of cractros
Christos
Bugala

Post by Bugala »

Commands have arguments. Arguments are the things you put inside ().
SetInterval has following arguments:
ID, Function, TIME

ID is the ID for interval. Idea is that you give ID number for your interval, so that you can at later point use StopInterval(ID) to stop that interval from executing anymore.

Function is the function you wish to run with that interval.

And TIME is how often will that Interval be executed.

Lets say I have simply
Print "Hello World"