Basic SQL / SQLite3 questions

Discuss about plugins that don't have a dedicated forum
phipslk

Basic SQL / SQLite3 questions

Post by phipslk »

Hi all,
I am working on a database for magazines as a start with Hollywood and stumbled upon SQLite3 which seems to be a good plugin to use for that purpose.
I am very new to SQL. I tried my first steps with inserting data into a sql database. I oriented myself on the demo code which came with the plugin download. but my version doesn't work. any hints appreciated ;-) and I will come to more questions probably.

Code: Select all

@REQUIRE "sqlite3"

db = sqlite3.open_memory()

db:exec([[ CREATE TABLE test (id INTEGER PRIMARY KEY, name, publisher, year, issue,language,systems,isbn, condition) ]])

;stmt = db:prepare([[ INSERT INTO test VALUES (:key, :value) ]])

Function p_Bind(k,nam, publishe, yea, issu,languag,system,isb, conditio)	; key , value
stmt = db:prepare([[ INSERT INTO test VALUES (:key, :name, :publisher, :year, :issue, :language, :systems, :isbn, :condition ) ]])
stmt:bind_names({  key = k,  name=nam, publisher=publishe, year=yea, issue=issu,language=languag,systems=system,isbn=isb, condition=conditio})
stmt:dostep()
stmt:reset()
EndFunction

Local m1 = 	{name = "64er",
	publisher = "M&T",
	year = 1986,
	issue = 1,
	language = "german",
	systems = {"C64","VC20"},
	isbn = "123-456789-123-0",
	condition = 1
	}

Local m2=	{name = "Amiga Future",
	publisher = "APC&TCP",
	year = 2023,
	issue = 126,
	language = "german",
	systems = {"Amiga"},
	isbn = "123-765443-123-0",
	condition = 1
	}

p_Bind(NULL,name = "64er", publisher = "M&T", year = "1986", issue = "1", language = "german",	systems = "C64", isbn = "123-456789-123-0", condition = "1")
;p_Bind(2,Unpack(m2))

stmt:finalize()

For row In db:nrows("SELECT * FROM test")
  DebugPrint(row.id, row.publisher)
Next
lazi

Re: Basic SQL / SQLite3 questions

Post by lazi »

Try this for calling your p_Bind():