App not responding with Plananarama

Report any Hollywood bugs here
User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 5410
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: App not responding with Plananarama

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

I've just released Plananarama 2.1 which contains this new feature so this should solve the problem with using Plananarama on RTG systems and it shouldn't be necessary to use two separate builds for planar and RTG systems any longer.
User avatar
midwan
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 1:15 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: App not responding with Plananarama

Post by midwan »

Thanks for the update.

I compiled a fresh version using the new plugin, but it still seems problematic on non-RTG modes:
- on HighRes Laced mode, I get an error on startup: "Cannot set adapter!"
- switching to RTG mode, the app starts up normally.

The plugin was added like this to the code:

Code: Select all

@IF #HW_AMIGAOS3
    @REQUIRE "plananarama", {Link = True}
@ENDIF
User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 5410
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: App not responding with Plananarama

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

midwan wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 1:35 pm - on HighRes Laced mode, I get an error on startup: "Cannot set adapter!"
As I wrote earlier you need to require Plananarama first, then RapaGUI, i.e.

Code: Select all

@IF #HW_AMIGAOS3
   @REQUIRE "plananarama", {Link = True}
@ENDIF 
@REQUIRE "RapaGUI", {Link = True}
Otherwise you will get the "Cannot set adapter!" error when Plananarama tries to install itself.
User avatar
midwan
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 1:15 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: App not responding with Plananarama

Post by midwan »

Sorry, forgot to change that in the source I compiled. :-/

Now that I've fixed that, it does start up in both scenarios as expected.
However, there is still a problem when the application opens a secondary window (a settings window in this case).
When that happens, we still have the same behavior as originally reported:
- When using RTG, everything works as expected
- When using non-RTG, as soon as the secondary window opens the application stops responding. I can resize the window but it doesn't refresh, and it does not respond to any other events (e.g. trying to close the window does not respond).
User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 5410
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: App not responding with Plananarama

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

midwan wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 2:20 pm - When using non-RTG, as soon as the secondary window opens the application stops responding. I can resize the window but it doesn't refresh, and it does not respond to any other events (e.g. trying to close the window does not respond).
Weird. I've modified plouf's MCVE to include a second window that opens when pressing a button. It works here. Does this work for you or does it show the same issue?

Code: Select all

@IF #HW_AMIGAOS3
   @REQUIRE "plananarama", {Link = True}
@ENDIF 
@REQUIRE "RapaGUI", {Link = True}


moai.CreateApp([[
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?>
<application>
   <window title="Test program">
      <vgroup>
	 <button id="btn">Hello World! </button>
      </vgroup>
   </window>
   <window id="child" open="false" title="Child window">
      <vgroup>
         <button id="btn2">Click me</button>
      </vgroup>
   </window>
</application>
]])

InstallEventHandler({RapaGUI = Function(msg)
	
	If msg.id = "btn" Then moai.Set("child", "open", True)
		
EndFunction})		

Repeat
	WaitEvent
Forever 
User avatar
midwan
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 1:15 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: App not responding with Plananarama

Post by midwan »

Yes, this example works for me as well.
I'm not sure what is triggering the behavior with my code, exactly.
User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 5410
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: App not responding with Plananarama

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

Try to cut it down as an MCVE. Then I'll take a look.
plouf
Posts: 449
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:51 pm
Location: Athens,Greece

Re: App not responding with Plananarama

Post by plouf »

its seems RapaGUI realated and not planananarama

i have modify my example to open dialog and not window (no planananarama at all) and seems to do it, however using rapagui 1.2 it works OK

code in test

Code: Select all

@REQUIRE "RapaGUI", {Link = True}


moai.CreateApp([[
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?>
<application>
   <window title="Test program">
      <vgroup>
	 <button id="btn">Hello World! </button>
      </vgroup>
   </window>
   <window id="child" open="false" title="Child window">
      <vgroup>
         <button id="btn2">Click me</button>
      </vgroup>
   </window>
</application>
]])

dialog$ = [[
<dialog id="dlgs" title="AmidonSettings">
	<vgroup>
	<rectangle/>
	  <hgroup>
	    <rectangle/>
	    <button id="ok">ok</button>
	    <button id="cancel">Cancel</button>
	  </hgroup>
        </vgroup>
</dialog>
]]

InstallEventHandler({RapaGUI = Function(msg)
	
	If msg.id = "btn" 
		moai.CreateDialog(dialog$)
    		result = moai.DoMethod("dlgs", "showmodal")
	EndIf
		
EndFunction})		

Repeat
	WaitEvent
Forever 

Christos
User avatar
midwan
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 1:15 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: App not responding with Plananarama

Post by midwan »

Thanks for the assist, plouf!

Indeed, it seems like a bug in newer RapaGUI versions (I'm compiling with the latest available). Testing with an older one like plouf mentioned, seems to work.

Any chance we can get this plugin fixed also?
User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 5410
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: App not responding with Plananarama

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

Thanks @plouf for the MCVE. Turns out that there are issues in Plananarama and RapaGUI. I've now fixed the one in Plananarama so hopefully everything should be working now if you use Plananarama. If you don't use Plananarama the issue will still be there because that will need a fix in RapaGUI then. Here's a test build of Plananarama 2.2 with the fix applied, please try if this solves the problem and report back: http://www.softwarefailure.de/tmp/plananarama22.lha
Post Reply