App not responding with Plananarama

Report any Hollywood bugs here
plouf
Posts: 473
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:51 pm
Location: Athens,Greece

Re: App not responding with Plananarama

Post by plouf »

works here, but have no mastodon account :)
Christos
User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 5450
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: App not responding with Plananarama

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

@midwan: Have you tested if everything is working correctly with the build I provided above?
User avatar
midwan
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 1:15 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: App not responding with Plananarama

Post by midwan »

I did not, as I am not using the plugin if I can avoid it (the only reason I added it in the first place, was to try an make a single executable work on both native and RTG screens). Since we found that removing the DISPLAY and BGPIC statements from the code, also removed the requirement for Plananarama to make it work on native screens, I did not see the need to add it anymore.

I am using RapaGUI however.
User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 5450
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: App not responding with Plananarama

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

midwan wrote: Sat Dec 02, 2023 11:05 pm I am using RapaGUI however.
But that still has the bug so without Plananarama it won't work correctly on non-RTG screens until I'll release an update to RapaGUI but this will take some time because RapaGUI is a different beast with all the different platforms involved. If you need a quick fix, Plananarama should do it.
User avatar
midwan
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 1:15 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: App not responding with Plananarama

Post by midwan »

airsoftsoftwair wrote: Sat Dec 02, 2023 11:24 pm
midwan wrote: Sat Dec 02, 2023 11:05 pm I am using RapaGUI however.
But that still has the bug so without Plananarama it won't work correctly on non-RTG screens until I'll release an update to RapaGUI but this will take some time because RapaGUI is a different beast with all the different platforms involved. If you need a quick fix, Plananarama should do it.
Understood.

I did a quick test just now, by compiling the app with the version of Plananarama you posted above. The rest of the plugins used are hURL and RapaGUI, both of which are the latest versions available. I compiled this on WinUAE, due to the known bug with Hollywood 9.1 and Plananarama (not being able to cross compile that plugin). The target was m68k (non-FPU).

The code links it like so:

Code: Select all

@REQUIRE "hurl", {Link = True}
@IF #HW_AMIGAOS3
    @REQUIRE "plananarama", {Link = True}
@ENDIF 
@REQUIRE "RapaGUI", {Link = True}
Unfortunately however, I still see the same problem:
- Works fine in RTG modes
- The settings dialog stops responding on native modes (tried with HighRes:Laced 256 colors).

By "stops responding", I mean that it does not refresh its contents if resized, none of the buttons are clickable, and even the close button does not do anything. I can only move the window around and resize it but without it redrawing.

I'm not sure what @plouf tried and said it's working.
User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 5450
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: App not responding with Plananarama

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

midwan wrote: Sun Dec 03, 2023 10:57 am I'm not sure what @plouf tried and said it's working.
It's this short test. Can you check if that MCVE is working for you?
User avatar
midwan
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 1:15 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: App not responding with Plananarama

Post by midwan »

airsoftsoftwair wrote: Sun Dec 03, 2023 6:40 pm
midwan wrote: Sun Dec 03, 2023 10:57 am I'm not sure what @plouf tried and said it's working.
It's this short test. Can you check if that MCVE is working for you?
Yes, testing with that MCVE also shows the same exact problem I'm having with my app as well.
But to make things equal in the test, I added Plananarama in there as well:

Code: Select all

@IF #HW_AMIGAOS3
    @REQUIRE "plananarama", {Link = True}
@ENDIF 
@REQUIRE "RapaGUI", {Link = True}


moai.CreateApp([[
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?>
<application>
   <window title="Test program">
      <vgroup>
	 <button id="btn">Hello World! </button>
      </vgroup>
   </window>
   <window id="child" open="false" title="Child window">
      <vgroup>
         <button id="btn2">Click me</button>
      </vgroup>
   </window>
</application>
]])

dialog$ = [[
<dialog id="dlgs" title="AmidonSettings">
	<vgroup>
	<rectangle/>
	  <hgroup>
	    <rectangle/>
	    <button id="ok">ok</button>
	    <button id="cancel">Cancel</button>
	  </hgroup>
        </vgroup>
</dialog>
]]

InstallEventHandler({RapaGUI = Function(msg)
	
	If msg.id = "btn" 
		moai.CreateDialog(dialog$)
    		result = moai.DoMethod("dlgs", "showmodal")
	EndIf
		
EndFunction})		

Repeat
	WaitEvent
Forever 
This works in RTG, not so much in native modes... The dialog opens up, but it's not responding after that.
plouf
Posts: 473
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:51 pm
Location: Athens,Greece

Re: App not responding with Plananarama

Post by plouf »

are you sure you have update plananarama to 2.2 and not just 2.1 ?

i have create this executable difference is plananarama 2.2 / hollywood 10 /
https://file.io/5whDnxq7uasZ
Christos
User avatar
midwan
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 1:15 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: App not responding with Plananarama

Post by midwan »

plouf wrote: Sun Dec 03, 2023 7:17 pm are you sure you have update plananarama to 2.2 and not just 2.1 ?

i have create this executable difference is plananarama 2.2 / hollywood 10 /
https://file.io/5whDnxq7uasZ
Yeap, double checked now - v2.2 (26.11.2023) is installed
User avatar
midwan
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 1:15 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: App not responding with Plananarama

Post by midwan »

@plouf:
Your compiled example seems to work, both under native and RTG modes.
Perhaps this is an issue with Hollywood 9.1 then, if that's the only difference? Is that possible?
Post Reply