Understanding the typical hollywood loop

Find quick help here to get you started with Hollywood
dewindatws

Understanding the typical hollywood loop

Post by dewindatws »

Hello everyone, after eyeing up Hollywood for quite sometime, I've finally decided to purchase it and I've been really enjoying it so far!

I have some programming experience, as a child and a teenager I spent countless hours with GML with gamemaker 7, lua in 2008 roblox studio, I was taught VB.NET 2010 in middle school and as an adult I've messed around with both C and Pico8, although I wouldn't say I am a programmer by any stretch of the imagination, simply that I know how to bodge things together looking at an API reference manual..

Which leads me to my question, reading the documentation for HW, I can see that everything is based on events similar to VB.NET, but when reading through the documentation, the examples for the event-based code seem to be contridictory and mention legacy functions.

For example, here I have wrote a very basic paint program, however if you have a high enough DPI mouse, the application cannot reference the input quickly enough to draw a continious line as well as the increase of the size of the radius is not very stable.

Code: Select all

@DISPLAY {Title = "Whiteboard", X = #LEFT, Y = #TOP, Width = 640, Height = 480, Color = #WHITE, Sizeable = False}
SetFormStyle(#NORMAL)
SetFillStyle(#FILLCOLOR)
StartTimer(1)
X=64
Y=64
R=5
Function logic()
    X=MouseX()
    Y=MouseY()
    If IsKeyDown("A") Or IsKeyDown("a") Then R = R + 1
    If IsKeyDown("S") Or IsKeyDown("s") And R > 5 Then R = R - 1
;COLOUR
If IsKeyDown("C") Or IsKeyDown("c")
        COLOUR = ColorRequest("Select a colour")
        If COLOUR = -1
          Print("Requester cancelled!")
    EndIf
If IsKeyDown("N") Or IsKeyDown("n")  Then Cls(#WHITE)
EndIf

EndFunction
Function redrawdisplay()
If IsLeftMouse() = True Then Circle(X,Y,R,COLOUR)
    If IsRightMouse() = True Then Circle(X,Y,R,#WHITE)
EndFunction