in AOS3 black window appears.

Report any Hollywood bugs here
Post Reply
Bugala
Posts: 1330
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 7:11 pm

in AOS3 black window appears.

Post by Bugala »

This is bit vague, hence I am mainly hoping that this would be known issue and you could tell what this problem is.

But, Amigalive reported (and sent a video too) that when he was running my game on AOS3, under emulation environment (which means issue can be related to emulation some way, leaving endless amount of possibilities), there appeared a black window in front of the game constantly.

Now thing is, I first had a version that was opening the display in way of simply opening the some display, probably window mode, don't recall for sure anymore, and the black window appearing problem was there.

Then I changed the code to use "Ask" version instead, and problem disappeared.

Then I changed to Ploufs system (the same one I told in this one too: https://forums.hollywood-mal.com/viewtopic.php?t=4103)

Code: Select all

 Function ScreenModeRequest(DisplayModes,CustomTitle$,CustomText$)
	Local Screensizes = CreateList()
	For Local k = 0 To ListItems(DisplayModes) - 1
		 InsertItem(ScreenSizes,DisplayModes[k].Width.." x "..DisplayModes[k].Height)
	Next
	If CustomTitle$=Nil
		CustomTitle$="Screen Mode Request"
	EndIf
	If CustomText$=Nil
		CustomText$="Please Select Screen Size"
	EndIf
	selected = ListRequest(CustomTitle$,CustomText$,ScreenSizes)
	Return(DisplayModes[selected].Width,DisplayModes[selected].Height)
   EndFunction

   p_scrWidth, p_scrHeight = ScreenModeRequest(GetDisplayModes(),Nil,"for MONITOR SCREEN")
Top
And black window appearing constantly appearing in front of the current screen happened again.

I do have couple of DebugPrints in my code, but they should not happen. They are in way of in case something completely unexpected happens.

They are in way of:

Code: Select all

If A=0 then...
Elseif A=1 then...
Else debugprint("Error, A is not 0 or 1")
by otherwords, things that should never happen.

And because it is a black screen with nothing else, it doesn't seem like a debugprint monitor appearing, and since they don't happen with other versions, it seems unlikely that this is would be a debugprint message popping up, and hence seems like this might be some sort of Hollywood related problem instead of code problem.

But, as said, there are currently too many variables to pinpoint the cause of the problem and fix it, but I am more of putting this in case you have some idea already what is causing this problem.

If you don't, I might in future try to pinpoint the problem more exact if more people report about it, since currently it is only AmigaLive reporting about this, which might have to do with his special emulation environment.
plouf
Posts: 615
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:51 pm
Location: Athens,Greece

Re: in AOS3 black window appears.

Post by plouf »

i dont think its emulation issue, this is most probably the hollywood initial display, hide it with this line as first line of your script

Code: Select all

@DISPLAY {hidden=True}
 
then imho new display can have a new id like Display(2)


p.s. if you use my requester, use this with cancel aware version, as i later found that script fails if you press cancel :)

Code: Select all

Function ScreenModeRequest(DisplayModes,CustomTitle$,CustomText$)
	Local Screensizes = CreateList()
	For Local k = 0 To ListItems(DisplayModes) - 1
		 InsertItem(ScreenSizes,DisplayModes[k].Width.." x "..DisplayModes[k].Height)
	Next
	If CustomTitle$=Nil
		CustomTitle$="Screen Mode Request"
	EndIf
	If CustomText$=Nil
		CustomText$="Please Select Screen Size"
	EndIf
	selected = ListRequest(CustomTitle$,CustomText$,ScreenSizes)
	If selected=-1
		Return(Nil)
	Else
		Return(DisplayModes[selected].Width,DisplayModes[selected].Height)
	EndIf
EndFunction
Christos
Bugala
Posts: 1330
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 7:11 pm

Re: in AOS3 black window appears.

Post by Bugala »

Thanks, going to try that Hidden option if it works.
Post Reply