ConsolePrompt() prompts in debug window not in console
ConsolePrompt() prompts in debug window not in console
in Windows OS
Hollywood 10
From the Hollywood IDE
example -> https://forums.hollywood-mal.com/viewto ... 010#p21010
however when compiled works !
Hollywood 10
From the Hollywood IDE
example -> https://forums.hollywood-mal.com/viewto ... 010#p21010
however when compiled works !
Christos
- airsoftsoftwair
- Posts: 5575
- Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
- Location: Germany
- Contact:
Re: ConsolePrompt() promts in debug window not in console
That's a feature, not a bug Console input isn't supported from the Hollywood IDE because imitating a complete console using GUI widgets is a lot of work and just not worth the effort. Most of the other functions from the console library won't work properly in the IDE either. If you want to use them, run Hollywood from a console.
Re: ConsolePrompt() promts in debug window not in console
Strange
Because i can see console opening ! And console DOES ACCEPT input just text goes to debug
The above example, waits any input and goes to next
But in the final promt waits for "=" and yes pushing = in openwd commmand line window, script get it correct
Just "print" goes to debugwindow ?!
Because i can see console opening ! And console DOES ACCEPT input just text goes to debug
The above example, waits any input and goes to next
But in the final promt waits for "=" and yes pushing = in openwd commmand line window, script get it correct
Just "print" goes to debugwindow ?!
Christos
- airsoftsoftwair
- Posts: 5575
- Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
- Location: Germany
- Contact:
Re: ConsolePrompt() promts in debug window not in console
Ok, now I see what you mean. I first thought you expected the actual prompt to occur in the IDE's debug dock window which is not possible. But you're right that the prompt text should be shown in the same location as the actual prompt so I've fixed ConsolePrompt() now.
Code: Select all
- Fix [Windows]: When using DebugPrompt() from the IDE, the prompt text was shown in the IDE's log window
while the actual prompt occurred in a console window; now the prompt text is no longer shown in the IDE
but in the console window as well
Re: ConsolePrompt() promts in debug window not in console
lost it !
in "fix" says "when using DebugPrompt()" but we are speaking for Consolepromt() ? is the same thing ? just typo?
also, dont know if its related and so fixed, but same problem is with ConsolePrint().
in "fix" says "when using DebugPrompt()" but we are speaking for Consolepromt() ? is the same thing ? just typo?
also, dont know if its related and so fixed, but same problem is with ConsolePrint().
Christos
- airsoftsoftwair
- Posts: 5575
- Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
- Location: Germany
- Contact:
Re: ConsolePrompt() promts in debug window not in console
Actually, DebugPrompt() does the same as ConsolePrompt(), it just won't do anything if debugging is disabled.plouf wrote: ↑Sun Sep 01, 2024 9:26 am in "fix" says "when using DebugPrompt()" but we are speaking for Consolepromt() ? is the same thing ? just typo?
I don't think it makes sense to change the behaviour of ConsolePrint(). I think the output of ConsolePrint() should go to the IDE window even if ConsolePrompt() has opened a console window. The window opened by ConsolePrompt() should really only be used for prompting, not for general console output.plouf wrote: ↑Sun Sep 01, 2024 9:26 am also, dont know if its related and so fixed, but same problem is with ConsolePrint().
Re: ConsolePrompt() promts in debug window not in console
sorry
this is the "supposed correct" correct? -> https://ctrl.vi/i/fS7undM5n
why else ConsolePrint() not g to the console ?
this is the "supposed correct" correct? -> https://ctrl.vi/i/fS7undM5n
why else ConsolePrint() not g to the console ?
Christos
- airsoftsoftwair
- Posts: 5575
- Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
- Location: Germany
- Contact:
Re: ConsolePrompt() promts in debug window not in console
Looks like you first need to enter something before the script will continue execution. ConsolePrompt() will block until there's some input...
Re: ConsolePrompt() prompts in debug window not in console
Ok
But pointing in where text going to
I believe consolepromt() AND ConsolePrint() text output should go to console (black console window)
While DebugPrint() should go to ide's bottom listgadget
But pointing in where text going to
I believe consolepromt() AND ConsolePrint() text output should go to console (black console window)
While DebugPrint() should go to ide's bottom listgadget
Christos
- airsoftsoftwair
- Posts: 5575
- Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
- Location: Germany
- Contact:
Re: ConsolePrompt() prompts in debug window not in console
You're right that it would make perfect sense if ConsolePrint() wrote its output to a real console window but I don't really want to change its behaviour because it could break many scripts where people use ConsolePrint() and expect the output to show up in the IDE's log window. Such a change in ConsolePrint() would force people to adapt their scripts to the new behaviour of ConsolePrint() which is something I try to avoid unless it's really necessary which is clearly not the case here IMHO.plouf wrote: ↑Wed Sep 11, 2024 8:38 pm I believe consolepromt() AND ConsolePrint() text output should go to console (black console window)
While DebugPrint() should go to ide's bottom listgadget