Hollywood10 Linux - Error when SaveBrush to ILBM

Report any Hollywood bugs here
Post Reply
User avatar
fingus
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:53 am

Hollywood10 Linux - Error when SaveBrush to ILBM

Post by fingus »

Code: Select all

@display {Palette = #PALETTE_OCS} 
Loadbrush(0, "bilder/test.jpg")
QuantizeBrush(0, {Colors = 32, Dither = 1, Palette = 0})
SaveBrush(0, "out.iff", {Format = #IMGFMT_ILBM})
Image
User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 5446
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Hollywood10 Linux - Error when SaveBrush to ILBM

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

This doesn't qualify as an MCVE because I don't have access to the file "test.jpg". Does this happen with any JPG or only with specific ones?
User avatar
fingus
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:53 am

Re: Hollywood10 Linux - Error when SaveBrush to ILBM

Post by fingus »

airsoftsoftwair wrote: Wed Dec 06, 2023 4:48 pm This doesn't qualify as an MCVE because I don't have access to the file "test.jpg". Does this happen with any JPG or only with specific ones?
Every jpg i test, also this one:

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/ ... ration.jpg
User avatar
fingus
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:53 am

Re: Hollywood10 Linux - Error when SaveBrush to ILBM

Post by fingus »

I think I have found the cause for this; it's triggered when saving on a mounted Web-Disk (WebDAV, SFTP).
User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 5446
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Hollywood10 Linux - Error when SaveBrush to ILBM

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

Can the error be reproduced by writing a file to the mounted web disk? e.g.

Code: Select all

OpenFile(1, <mounted web disk path>, #MODE_WRITE)
WriteLine(1, "foo")
CloseFile(1)
Does this work or does it throw the same error?
User avatar
fingus
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:53 am

Re: Hollywood10 Linux - Error when SaveBrush to ILBM

Post by fingus »

airsoftsoftwair wrote: Fri Dec 08, 2023 8:32 pm Can the error be reproduced by writing a file to the mounted web disk? e.g.

Code: Select all

OpenFile(1, <mounted web disk path>, #MODE_WRITE)
WriteLine(1, "foo")
CloseFile(1)
Does this work or does it throw the same error?
That works for WebDAV and SFTP (SSH) Mounted Shares.
User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 5446
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Hollywood10 Linux - Error when SaveBrush to ILBM

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

fingus wrote: Mon Dec 11, 2023 11:23 am That works for WebDAV and SFTP (SSH) Mounted Shares.
Makes sense. In contrast to the ILBM saver, CloseFile() doesn't throw an error in case closing the file fails. I think this is a bug/feature in the mounted share file handler. What tool do you use to mount SFTP connections as a folder? SSHFS?
User avatar
fingus
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:53 am

Re: Hollywood10 Linux - Error when SaveBrush to ILBM

Post by fingus »

airsoftsoftwair wrote: Fri Dec 15, 2023 10:26 pm
fingus wrote: Mon Dec 11, 2023 11:23 am That works for WebDAV and SFTP (SSH) Mounted Shares.
Makes sense. In contrast to the ILBM saver, CloseFile() doesn't throw an error in case closing the file fails. I think this is a bug/feature in the mounted share file handler. What tool do you use to mount SFTP connections as a folder? SSHFS?
rclone mount webdav resource
User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 5446
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Hollywood10 Linux - Error when SaveBrush to ILBM

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

fingus wrote: Sat Dec 16, 2023 8:35 pm rclone mount webdav resource
Ah ok, not a Hollywood bug. The ILBM writer requires seeking so you should add --vfs-cache-mode=writes when you mount the WebDAV share. Then it should work.
User avatar
fingus
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:53 am

Re: Hollywood10 Linux - Error when SaveBrush to ILBM

Post by fingus »

airsoftsoftwair wrote: Sat Dec 23, 2023 9:49 pm
fingus wrote: Sat Dec 16, 2023 8:35 pm rclone mount webdav resource
Ah ok, not a Hollywood bug. The ILBM writer requires seeking so you should add --vfs-cache-mode=writes when you mount the WebDAV share. Then it should work.
That Fixed it, thanks four your Help again, Andreas!
Post Reply