Run and Execute and MS-DOS

Find quick help here to get you started with Hollywood
Post Reply
User avatar
Juan Carlos
Posts: 891
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:02 pm

Run and Execute and MS-DOS

Post by Juan Carlos »

I have this problem and doubt how i can run or execute the MS-DOS commnads even Linux commands like shutdown when the Hollywood instructions Run and Execute call to exe programs like the example: Run("C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Hollywood\\ide.exe", "")
the DOS commands in Windows and Linux work or different way to Amiga where call shutdown works fine but on Windos, in this case is necessary an extra parameter like that: Run("C:\\shutdown \s", "") the problem is that Hollywood doesn't recognize the extra paramater: \s
is there a possible solution or it is impossible?
Thank you for the answers.
Flinx
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2021 9:54 am
Location: Germany

Re: Run and Execute and MS-DOS

Post by Flinx »

From the manual:
Run(file$[, args$, t])
This function executes the program specified by file$ asynchronously and passes the arguments specified in args$ to it.
So you should try

Code: Select all

Run("C:\\Windows\\System32\\shutdown.exe","/s")
User avatar
Juan Carlos
Posts: 891
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:02 pm

Re: Run and Execute and MS-DOS

Post by Juan Carlos »

I think that shutdown on Windos was a .com program instead of .exe, the console shell isn't very clear, the Linux version, will be different too, thanks, for this solution to my doubt.
Dave
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 3:19 pm

Re: Run and Execute and MS-DOS

Post by Dave »

This will give you a prompt which shuts down windows. Other switches are available.

Code: Select all

Local Quit = "C:\\Windows\\System32\\shutdown /s"

Run(Quit)
Post Reply