The Beckoning

Show off your project created with Hollywood
ocean77

The Beckoning

Post by ocean77 »

I have put together a short teaser to showcase my game project. I'm not giving away too much at this point, but
hopefully it will serve to show the visual style I'm going for as well as the setting and mood and hopefully
spark some interest.

https://youtu.be/mcwW6EMuDPY

I had intended to do it all in Hollywood Designer as I am no programmer, but it is already getting quite
disorganized and hard to maintain. I might need to get an experienced programmer on board unless I
can tidy things up.

The plan is to first release a playable teaser to introduce the universe, and then tell the story in
a chapter based fashion in an attempt to divide the whole into smaller more managable pieces.
I wanted a branching story, but that seems very unlikely to happen at this point. Expect linearity save
for a few bits and bobs. There are puzzles and conversation choices, but they will most likely not
affect the outcome in any way.

The backgrounds are rendered 3d scenes which are painted over. And the animated elements, such as characters, are
rotoscoped, traced like simple sketches then cel shaded. The animation will be minimal to keep the workload down.
It will be more of a slide-show than fluid, but I think it works very well.

To me, the ambience and sound are much more important than the visual aspects. Which is why I've devoted a
considerable amount of time and effort on those elements as well as the writing process.
It has to feel and sound right before it looks right.

Well, that's all I had for now. Hopefully, you'll tag along and follow "The Beckoning" as it materializes.

Thanks.
ocean77

Re: The Beckoning

Post by ocean77 »

I couldn't edit the original post for some reason.
Wanted to add the Lbry link as well:

https://open.lbry.com/@Hole-Creations:6 ... vBdMQKFUyk
Clyde

Post by Clyde »

:shock: WOW! This a art!