ShowDisplay() fails if display outside of visible screen

Report any Hollywood bugs here
Post Reply
User avatar
TheMartian
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 12:51 pm

ShowDisplay() fails if display outside of visible screen

Post by TheMartian » Sat Apr 10, 2010 7:53 pm

Hi

If I move a display partly outside the visible screen and later hide and display it i get a message like this:

Unable to change displaysize to 1024 x 1024

...(if that is the size of the display).

The code below triggers the error as my display has the dimensions 1920 x 1200. So 300+1024 is beyond that.

Since displays partially outside the visible area are legal, I suspect this is a bug.

regards
Jesper

@DISPLAY {x=300,y=300}
CreateBGPic(2,1024,1024,#RED)
SetDisplayAttributes({BGPic=2})

WaitLeftMouse
HideDisplay()
Wait(100)
ShowDisplay()
WaitLeftMouse

End

User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 3355
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: ShowDisplay() fails if display outside of visible screen

Post by airsoftsoftwair » Wed Apr 14, 2010 11:07 am

Since displays partially outside the visible area are legal, I suspect this is a bug.
Not on AmigaOS3 and WarpOS! Only OS4, AROS, and MorphOS allow displays to be outside of the visible area. I'm not sure why Hollywood is currently blocking the opening of displays outside of the screen bounds but I think I made this for a reason so I'm somewhat reluctant to change this. Better move the display to the visible region first :)

User avatar
TheMartian
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 12:51 pm

Re: ShowDisplay() fails if display outside of visible screen

Post by TheMartian » Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:20 pm

Hi

I noticed this because I was playing with the sceen dump utility I created using Hollywood some days ago based on the new desktop dump command and put on this site. The screen dump utility gets around the problem by only copying the part of the selected area inside the visible display (and actually centers it afterwards).

PS.
For my amusement I compiled a version for the PC and used it today during a break in an installation at a customers site (I do consultant work every now and then) to demonstrate what this 'strange Hollywood thingy' can do ;) It turns out the Amiga is a good subject while waiting for installations to finish. There is always someone present with fond memories of Amigas.

regards
Jesper

User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 3355
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: ShowDisplay() fails if display outside of visible screen

Post by airsoftsoftwair » Fri Apr 16, 2010 10:50 am

Ok, I've fixed this now. The reason why this error occurred is that the OS4 window manager itself refuses to open windows that are partly outside the screen boundaries. I've changed this now so that these windows are adapted automatically to appear inside the screen boundaries.

Post Reply