StringRequest under AmigaOS3.9

Report any Hollywood bugs here
User avatar
Juan Carlos
Posts: 887
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:02 pm

StringRequest under AmigaOS3.9

Post by Juan Carlos »

The instruction StringRequestwith the numerical parameters don't works under AmigaOS3.9, open a mistake windows with message:
"Use of incorrect parameters for this comment"
Only happend this problem with #NUMERICAL parameter under AmigaOS3.9 under MorphOS and Windows it works fine, the other parameter #ALT works fine in the three systems.

Code: Select all

@DISPLAY {Title="Number Bug", Width=640, Height=480}

Number$=StringRequest("Write a number", "Enter a number:", "", #NUMERICAL, 5)  ;This line doesn't work with AmigaOS3.9.
;Number$=StringRequest("Write a number", "Enter a number:", "", #ALL, 0, False) ;This line yeah.

TextOut(#CENTER, #CENTER, Number$)

EscapeQuit(True)
Repeat
  WaitEvent
Forever
User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 5433
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: StringRequest under AmigaOS3.9

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

Code: Select all

- Fix [OS3]: StringRequest() didn't work with #NUMERICAL in case a string that didn't contain a number was specified as the default string
As a workaround, just pass a string that contains a number in the third parameter, e.g "0".
User avatar
Juan Carlos
Posts: 887
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:02 pm

Re: StringRequest under AmigaOS3.9

Post by Juan Carlos »

Thank you, Andreas. It now works, I read the documentation but I don't remember this fixed.
User avatar
Juan Carlos
Posts: 887
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:02 pm

Re: StringRequest under AmigaOS3.9

Post by Juan Carlos »

Well I found other problem in StringRequest and password field, when you assign the valor True under Windows works correct show points instead of charapters, ok this is the objetive but under AmigaOS 3.9 only shows spaces, well it also is good but under MorphOS shows the charapter that you are writing, example:
Password$=StringRequest("Password enter", "Enter your password", "", ALL, 0, True)
In each system an instruction works differently.
User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 5433
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: StringRequest under AmigaOS3.9

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

Juan Carlos wrote: Mon Sep 16, 2019 8:19 pm but under AmigaOS 3.9 only shows spaces
This is a feature. StringRequest() is implemented via reqtools.library and on OS3 it behaves like that...
User avatar
Juan Carlos
Posts: 887
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:02 pm

Re: StringRequest under AmigaOS3.9

Post by Juan Carlos »

But under MorphOS it shows the charapter write instead of points also it is for reqtools.library?
User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 5433
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: StringRequest under AmigaOS3.9

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

That's a bug in MorphOS or in reqtools.library then...
User avatar
Juan Carlos
Posts: 887
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:02 pm

Re: StringRequest under AmigaOS3.9

Post by Juan Carlos »

MorphOS hasn't reqtools.library
User avatar
jPV
Posts: 603
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 10:44 am
Location: RNO
Contact:

Re: StringRequest under AmigaOS3.9

Post by jPV »

Juan Carlos wrote: Wed Sep 18, 2019 10:40 am MorphOS hasn't reqtools.library
Yes it does, look in the SYS:MorphOS/Libs/, and I also noticed this bug once.. should report to the MorphOS team.
User avatar
Juan Carlos
Posts: 887
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:02 pm

Re: StringRequest under AmigaOS3.9

Post by Juan Carlos »

Well, today I tryed to find the library and it not be.
Post Reply