Page 4 of 5

Re: Documentation problems

Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2018 3:46 pm
by airsoftsoftwair

Code: Select all

- Fix [Doc]: Rnd() and RndF() were both documented as being inclusive whereas they were exclusive in
  reality; for RndF() the documentation was wrong since Hollywood 1.5, for Rnd() only Hollywood 7.1's
  manual was wrong

Re: Documentation problems

Posted: Tue Oct 01, 2019 10:59 pm
by Clyde
The object that is passed to the event handler callback function which is called when creating a layer button contains a property called "layername", which is not documented in the MakeButton section of the documentation:

Code: Select all

Function _handleMouseClickEvents(msg)
    DebugPrint("msg.id", msg.id)
    DebugPrint("msg.layername", msg.layername) ; this is not documented
    ; ...
EndFunction

mouseEventTable = {OnMouseUp = handleMouseClickEvents, OnMouseDown = handleMouseClickEvents}

MakeButton(Nil, #LAYERBUTTON, layername, True, True, mouseEventTable)

Re: Documentation problems

Posted: Mon Oct 14, 2019 10:14 pm
by airsoftsoftwair
Good spot! Seems to have been added in Hollywood 4.5 but never documented... fixed now.

Code: Select all

- Fix [Doc]: MakeButton() didn't mention that buttons of type #LAYERBUTTON would receive two additional
  message parameters named "Layer" and "LayerName" since Hollywood 4.5

Re: Documentation problems

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2020 8:10 pm
by Juan Carlos
With RndStrong also there is a problem with the documentation because the example:
num=RndStrong(49) show this Error in line: Not enough arguments!
When the correct is
num=RndStrong(#INTEGER, 49)

Other question is with paramater #STRING it creates a non sense characters code like this:
Òðx¨0ÆPXˆ’du¤EڈBåk+Ú!UîmnR:˜Ö‘º¢†§¿JdC³Œ—9
What is something like this for? :?:

Re: Documentation problems

Posted: Sun May 23, 2021 8:31 pm
by lazi
DisplayBGPicPart() doc has an example which has old (pre 1.5) syntax and it fails in new versions.
The optional dx, dy parameters missing before the table.

Code: Select all

        width = GetAttribute(#DISPLAY, 0, #ATTRWIDTH)
        height = GetAttribute(#DISPLAY, 0, #ATTRHEIGHT)
        id = GetAttribute(#DISPLAY, 0, #ATTRBGPIC)
        CreateBrush(1, width, height)
        SelectBrush(1)
        DisplayBGPicPart(id, 0, 0, width, height, {Layers = TRUE})
        EndSelect
The correct would be:

Code: Select all

        width = GetAttribute(#DISPLAY, 0, #ATTRWIDTH)
        height = GetAttribute(#DISPLAY, 0, #ATTRHEIGHT)
        id = GetAttribute(#DISPLAY, 0, #ATTRBGPIC)
        CreateBrush(1, width, height)
        SelectBrush(1)
        DisplayBGPicPart(id, 0, 0, width, height, 0, 0, {Layers = TRUE})
        EndSelect
Is there a way to use the table without repeating x and y in this case?

Re: Documentation problems

Posted: Sun May 23, 2021 9:10 pm
by airsoftsoftwair
Juan Carlos wrote: Sat Nov 21, 2020 8:10 pm With RndStrong also there is a problem with the documentation because the example:
num=RndStrong(49) show this Error in line: Not enough arguments!
When the correct is
num=RndStrong(#INTEGER, 49)
Right, fixed.
Juan Carlos wrote: Sat Nov 21, 2020 8:10 pm Other question is with paramater #STRING it creates a non sense characters code like this:
Òðx¨0ÆPXˆ’du¤EڈBåk+Ú!UîmnR:˜Ö‘º¢†§¿JdC³Œ—9
What is something like this for? :?:
This is just a sequence of random bytes. Hollywood strings can contain binary data and this is what you get from RndStrong() with type #STRING. A sequence of strong random bytes.
lazi wrote: Sun May 23, 2021 8:31 pm DisplayBGPicPart() doc has an example which has old (pre 1.5) syntax and it fails in new versions.
The optional dx, dy parameters missing before the table.
True, fixed.
lazi wrote: Sun May 23, 2021 8:31 pm Is there a way to use the table without repeating x and y in this case?
No, the table must be in argument 8.

Re: Documentation problems

Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2022 3:31 pm
by lazi
It seems to me that @FONT accepts "engine" tag in the table argument which is important to use font files directly.
It is missing from the current documentation.

Re: Documentation problems

Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2022 7:52 pm
by airsoftsoftwair
lazi wrote: Mon Oct 17, 2022 3:31 pm It seems to me that @FONT accepts "engine" tag in the table argument which is important to use font files directly.
It is missing from the current documentation.
Read it again carefully:
The fourth argument is optional. It is a table that can be used to set further options for the loading operation. This table accepts all tags supported by the optional table of the SetFont() command as well as the following tags
:)

Re: Documentation problems

Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2022 8:16 pm
by lazi
That's correct! :-)
I am very sorry that I made a useless record in the forum database.

To lower my sin a bit, here is my "Master Hollywood Guide" which links most of the Hollywood related guides into one guide:
Image

Code: Select all

@database "HollywoodLibrary.guide"
@author "Lázi"
@$VER: Hollywood Library 1.0 (21.10.19)
@remark Created with golded 8.10 (15.9.7)
@index INDEX
@node MAIN "Hollywood Library"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                    ## ## ###### ##    ##    ##  ## ##   ## ###### ###### #####
                    ## ## ##  ## ##    ##     ####  ## # ## ##  ## ##  ## ##  ##
                    ##### ##  ## ##    ##      ##   ## # ## ##  ## ##  ## ##  ##
                    ## ## ##  ## ##    ##      ##   ## # ## ##  ## ##  ## ##  ##
                    ## ## ###### ##### #####   ##   ####### ###### ###### #####

				*   * ***  ***    **  ***  *   *
				*   * *  * *  *  *  * *  *  * *
				*   * ***  ***   **** ***    *
				*   * *  * *  *  *  * *  *   *
				*** * ***  *   * *  * *   *  *


				   @{b}All guides in one place@{ub}

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

   @{" Hollywood Guide " link "Hollywood:Help/Hollywood.guide/MAIN"}

   @{" MUI Royale      " link "WorkBench:MUIRoyale/Docs/MUIRoyale.guide/MAIN"}     @{" RapaGUI         " link "WorkBench:RapaGUI/Docs/RapaGUI.guide/MAIN"}

   @{" Polybios        " link "WorkBench:Polybios/Docs/Polybios.guide/MAIN"}     @{" GLGalore        " link "WorkBench:GLGalore/Docs/GLGalore.guide/MAIN"}

   @{" hURL            " link "WorkBench:hURL/Docs/hURL.guide/MAIN"}     @{" Malibu          " link "WorkBench:Malibu/Docs/Malibu.guide/MAIN"}

   @{" SDK             " link "SDK/doc/SDK.guide/MAIN"}     @{" Zip             " link "Tool:Hollywood/Plugins/ZIP_Plugin/Docs/zip.guide/MAIN"}
@endnode
@node INDEX "Index"
Insert index here
@endnode

Re: Documentation problems

Posted: Sat Nov 26, 2022 12:46 pm
by Clyde
Midwan reported a problem with the exetype option in the GitHub issues of my plugin: https://github.com/JohnArcher/vscode-ho ... /issues/28

Problem under Windows is, that if you use multiple exetype platforms, seperated by the pipe sign (|), you get error messages (tested with cmd and PowerShell) and the compile process is aborted. The trick is to enclose the platform strings in double quotes, like

Code: Select all

.\Hollywood_Console.exe main.hws -compile main -exetype "win32|classic"
Would be nice this could be reflected in the documentation.