Page 1 of 1

Polybios plugin embedded in executable but sometimes required

Posted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 11:26 pm
by domenikov
I wrote program "Crono", who can be found on Aminet and OS4 depot. It generates calendars in PDF format. I tested it under systems with and without Polybios installed. All worked fine for me, so I released program. But, I readen users comments (one on OS4 depot, another by email sent to me) who report problems. Error reported is "This program requires polybios.hwp!". Both users have Polybios installed. In my source code, Polybios is embedded, in order to have an independent executable. Line of code is:

@REQUIRE "polybios"

What went wrong? I mistaked in embedding Polybios, or there is something who I don't saw?

Re: Polybios plugin embedded in executable but sometimes required

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:28 am
by Tipsi
Hollywood manual, 2.1 Overview, Plugins (PDF Page 10):

"When distributing a compiledHollywood program, plugins required
by your program must simply be put into the samedirectory as your
program."

Griessli
Tipsi

Re: Polybios plugin embedded in executable but sometimes required

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 7:47 pm
by SamuraiCrow
Embedded plugins aren't supposed to need that file externally, however.

Re: Polybios plugin embedded in executable but sometimes required

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:43 pm
by airsoftsoftwair
Just doing a

Code: Select all

@REQUIRE "polybios"
won't embed the plugin in the executable. You need to do this instead:

Code: Select all

@REQUIRE "polybios", {Link = True}

Re: Polybios plugin embedded in executable but sometimes required

Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 12:46 pm
by domenikov
Now it works. Thank you very much!!!

Re: Polybios plugin embedded in executable but sometimes required

Posted: Sat May 04, 2019 5:31 pm
by amyren
I can not get that to work for me.

The RNOPDF is available as freeware on aminet, and comes complete with source.
The Aminet release (os3 fpu version) of RNOPDF does require polybios.hwp in its program path.
If I try to launch the executable without the polybios.hws it will prompt about this.
But also it does require the polybios.ext file, or else it will fail upon loading a pdf file.

I installed the plugin and the linkerplugin to try to compile a linked version of RNOPDF for OS3_FPU
It does compile without errors.

Launching the executable on the Amiga, now it will not complain about requiring polybios.hws
But when trying to open a pdf file and it will not work, but will prompt "error opening file".

I also did try compiling it for windows_x64, and there it works well without the polybios.hwp

The polybios.ext file does only exist for the Amiga, and is not present in the windows plugin.
Could it be that the polybios.ext also should be linked in a way?

Re: Polybios plugin embedded in executable but sometimes required

Posted: Sat May 04, 2019 5:43 pm
by airsoftsoftwair
Polybios.ext will never be linked and must always be present on AmigaOS and compatibles. See here: viewtopic.php?f=31&t=1993