Page 1 of 1

Refresh issue when dynamically changing objects in a non active window

Posted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 11:31 am
by jPV
I think this might be a MorphOS bug and reported there, but as I haven't got any feedback from MorphOS team yet, I thought to ask what Andreas thinks about it too. If it'd be something in Hollywood after all...

If I change objects in a group in a MUI window dynamically, and the window isn't active, the window doesn't get refreshed properly. The inactive window gets filled with the background color, and even its borders disappear. The window gets drawn properly only after I move the mouse over it, I don't have to activate it by clicking, but just move the mouse pointer over it.

Here is a test program, which just displays one line of text initially, waits for 2 seconds, and adds an image object to the window after it.
http://jpv.wmhost.com/testi/muitesting/ ... shtest.lha

When I launch that under MorphOS, it shows this window after the 2 seconds:
http://jpv.wmhost.com/testi/muitesting/Grab1.png

And then only after I move mouse over it, it gets refreshed to what it's supposed to look:
http://jpv.wmhost.com/testi/muitesting/Grab2.png

I can reproduce it only on MorphOS but not on AmigaOS 3 or 4. With AmigaOS window contents get refreshed properly immediately.

Re: Refresh issue when dynamically changing objects in a non active window

Posted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 11:44 am
by airsoftsoftwair
Definitely a MorphOS MUI bug if you ask me... MUI Royale doesn't do such lowlevel stuff at all, it just calls the respective MUI functions.

Re: Refresh issue when dynamically changing objects in a non active window

Posted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 2:04 pm
by jPV
Yeah, well.. it seems to refresh the window on any event, so I made a workaround like this now "SetTimeout(Nil, Function() EndFunction, 10)" just to trigger some event :)

Re: Refresh issue when dynamically changing objects in a non active window

Posted: Mon May 27, 2019 4:59 pm
by airsoftsoftwair
airsoftsoftwair wrote: Sun Jan 13, 2019 11:44 am Definitely a MorphOS MUI bug if you ask me... MUI Royale doesn't do such lowlevel stuff at all, it just calls the respective MUI functions.
Well, turned out to be a Hollywood bug after all :oops:

Code: Select all

- Change [Amiga]: HWCB_AMIGASIGNAL callback is now always called immediately before Wait(); this fixes
  certain refresh problems with MUI Royale and RapaGUI