Page 1 of 1

Running script from UltraEdit on Windows

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 1:25 am
by davec
Howdy,
I would like to use UltraEdit as my IDE, but currently if I try to run my script from UE, the output from the Hollywood script only appears in the UE Output Window once the Hollywood app has finished.

Any ideas how to get it to output of the Hollywood script to the OutputWindow of UE while the Hollywood script is actually running?

Thanks
Dave

Re: Running script from UltraEdit on Windows

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 6:38 pm
by airsoftsoftwair
Try running Hollywood with the "-forceflush" console argument. This should solve the problem...

Re: Running script from UltraEdit on Windows

Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 7:14 am
by davec
i had tried that but no luck.

Any other ideas?

Re: Running script from UltraEdit on Windows

Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 6:41 pm
by airsoftsoftwair
You also need to use Hollywood_Console.exe, not Hollywood.exe.

Re: Running script from UltraEdit on Windows

Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 7:04 pm
by davec
i did that too - no luck.

Thanks for trying to help. Any other ideas?

Re: Running script from UltraEdit on Windows

Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 7:19 pm
by airsoftsoftwair
Hmm, then this looks like an UltraEdit limitation. When using -forceflush Hollywood will flush all output to stdout after each new line so it's definitely possible to capture this and redirect it to an output window while the program is still running. But I'm not sure if UltraEdit supports this at all. When googling this it seems like lots of people have a similar problem with UltraEdit and it appears that UltraEdit doesn't really support it. I'd try asking their support if realtime capturing of stdout is actually supported...

Re: Running script from UltraEdit on Windows

Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 7:44 pm
by davec
Ok. Will do.

Thanks again.

Dave

Re: Running script from UltraEdit on Windows

Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2020 3:15 am
by davec
Ok. according to UE support, currently not supported but they have had other requests so its on the list to be investigated.

Hope it comes soon.

Re: Running script from UltraEdit on Windows

Posted: Fri Sep 18, 2020 11:53 pm
by airsoftsoftwair
Quite astonishing that this isn't supported in UltraEdit yet. It's not rocket science to make this work ;)