AROS installation

Find quick help here to get you started with Hollywood
Post Reply
Bohun
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 8:34 am

AROS installation

Post by Bohun » Sun Jul 17, 2016 2:19 pm

Hi All!

Because AROS missing Installer there is no possibility to install Hollywood automatically. I tried command "c:Install" instead but no result. So I installed manually. GUI starts, but unfortunately I could no run or compile my little program written earlier in Windows IDE and even Hello World example.
I think I have something wrong in my installation.
When I compile using GUI the result is "Compilation has failed! Check your script for errors!". When I run script from WB result is "Keyfile error!".
With Windows IDE everything is OK and exe files produced using this IDE run in AROS OK...

What should I do to have properly installation in AROS?

Bohun
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 8:34 am

Re: AROS installation

Post by Bohun » Sun Jul 17, 2016 4:00 pm

OK, I found my mistake. :idea: Hollywood exe was outside System folder. :D

User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 3221
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: AROS installation

Post by airsoftsoftwair » Mon Jul 18, 2016 11:24 am

I used to have a manual installation guide for AROS users in the distribution but apparently it hasn't been included since Hollywood 5.3 any more. So here it is:

Code: Select all

Information for AROS users
==========================

If you cannot use the supplied install script because the Installer tool is not
available for your platform (e.g. AROS), you have to do a manual installation.
Here is how to:

1. Create a directory for Hollywood, e.g. dh0:Programs/Hollywood.

2. Copy the contents of the "Data" drawer on this CD-ROM to your Hollywood
   directory. Note: Do not copy the "Data" drawer itself - just its contents!

3. Copy the Hollywood interpreter to the "System" drawer in your Hollywood
   directory. You find the interpreter in the "Platform" drawer on this
   CD-ROM. To install the AROS interpreter, copy the file Platform/AROS/Hollywood
   to dh0:Programs/Hollywood/System.

4. Copy the GUI to your Hollywood drawer. Note that the GUI does not go into
   the "System" drawer but in the main Hollywood directory. The GUI can also
   be found in the "Platform" drawer on this CD-ROM.

5. Copy the files APIChanges.txt and Hollywood.guide (from Locale/english) to
   the "Help" drawer in your Hollywood directory.

6. Add the following entries to your user-startup:

   ;BEGIN Hollywood
   Assign Hollywood: <your-path>
   Path Hollywood:System ADD
   ;END Hollywood

7. Copy the icon set you want to use from the "Icons" drawer to your Hollywood
   drawer.

8. Reboot so that the assign and path actions take effect.

NOTE #1: Make sure you are using a recent version of AROS (at least January 2006).
NOTE #2: If you are using the native version of AROS and do not have a hard-drive
         in that mode, you can also install Hollywood to your RAM disk! 

Bohun
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 8:34 am

Re: AROS installation

Post by Bohun » Mon Jul 18, 2016 2:43 pm

It looks like ready to use scenario for Hollywood script ;-)

User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 3221
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: AROS installation

Post by airsoftsoftwair » Mon Jul 18, 2016 9:48 pm

I prefer installers using the Commodore Installer instead of custom solutions. Someone should create an Installer replacement for AROS :)

User avatar
1Mouse
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:27 pm

Re: AROS installation

Post by 1Mouse » Sat Oct 12, 2019 1:39 pm

Hi all,

I have recently purchased Hollywood 8 and also have a copy of Hollywood Design 4, can either be install on an AROS machine running Icaros?

The answer should just be a simple yes or no and if yes how?

Thanks to anyone with any information.

User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 3221
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: AROS installation

Post by airsoftsoftwair » Tue Oct 15, 2019 4:19 pm

Hollywood Designer isn't available for AROS yet, but using Hollywood 8 on AROS is no problem at all.

Post Reply