GetMACAddress() on WInUAE

Find quick help here to get you started with Hollywood
Post Reply
sinisrus
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 5:43 pm

GetMACAddress() on WInUAE

Post by sinisrus »

Hello,

I test Hollywood on WinUAE
I have problem With GetMACAddress() return > 00:00:00:00:00:00

Why ?

amyren
Posts: 292
Joined: Thu May 02, 2019 11:53 am

Re: GetMACAddress() on WInUAE

Post by amyren »

I can confirm this.

There was a change in WinUAE 3.4.0, so after this it generates a new mac adress for the emulation, so I did a test with a recent WinUAE and an older (2.8.0) version. They both return zero's only.
Could be interesting to know if this is a WinUAE issue or if it does the same on a real amiga.

I could test it on my MorphOS setup later.

User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 4980
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: GetMACAddress() on WInUAE

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

Getting MAC addresses is currently unsupported on OS3 because AFAICS it's very difficult to do this in a way that is compatible with AmiTCP/Miami/Genesis/Roadshow/WinUAE and I don't have access to test systems with those stacks so you'll currently always get 00:00:00:00:00:00 on OS3...

User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 4980
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: GetMACAddress() on WInUAE

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

Code: Select all

- Fix [OS3]: GetMACAddress() now returns the correct MAC address if the TCP stack supports it; note that
  as of now, the only TCP stack on AmigaOS3 which supports the obtaining of MAC addresses is Roadshow;
  with all other TCP stacks you'll get 00:00:00:00:00:00

polluks
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2022 11:18 pm

Re: GetMACAddress() on WInUAE

Post by polluks »

airsoftsoftwair wrote:
Mon Sep 09, 2019 4:48 pm
Getting MAC addresses is currently unsupported on OS3 because AFAICS it's very difficult to do this in a way that is compatible with AmiTCP/Miami/Genesis/Roadshow/WinUAE and I don't have access to test systems with those stacks so you'll currently always get 00:00:00:00:00:00 on OS3...
Indeed? What about SANA-II's S2_GETSTATIONADDRESS?
http://www.amigadev.elowar.com/read/ADC ... e01F4.html
MorphOS

Post Reply