Autolinks for Hollywood forums

Official announcements from the Hollywood team
Post Reply
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 12:21 pm

Autolinks for Hollywood forums

Post by admin »

The Hollywood forums have a cool new feature now: All Hollywood commands, preprocessor commands, plugin commands, methods, and MUI Royale and RapaGUI attributes will now automatically show a link to the respective page in the documentation. You no longer have to insert links to the documentation manually. The Hollywood forums will take care of that automatically. Over 2500 entries are in the database.

Here are some tests:

You can use OpenDisplay() to do what you want.

The @BRUSH preprocessor command is your friend.

You can change the text of a textentry widget in RapaGUI by setting Textentry.Text.

gl.TexImage2D() is the function to use for hardware-accelerated drawing with GL Galore.

Have you seen easy:Perform()? It can be used to start transfers with hURL.

Use pdf.OpenDocument() to open a PDF document with Polybios.

This is RapaGUI's Window.Title attribute and this is MUI Royale's Window.Title.

A few notes:

1) For commands and methods it's mandatory to add "()" behind the name. Otherwise it won't get a link so you should write LoadBrush() and not LoadBrush.

2) RapaGUI and MUI Royale attributes and methods that have the same name need to be prefixed with either "MUIRoyale." or "RapaGUI.". Otherwise the autolink script won't be able to tell which plugin you are referring to. This is only needed for ambiguous attribute and method names. All unique attribute and method names needn't use the prefix but it's possible to specify it as well, e.g. RapaGUI's Choice.Active is the same as MUI Royale's Cycle.Active.

3) The links are only shown when making the final post. When previewing the post, the links won't be shown.

4) The autolink script will automatically adapt the spelling to the canonical one, e.g. if you write a function name in all lower case, the autolink script will automatically adapt the spelling to the canonical one.

That's it, enjoy the new feature!
SamuraiCrow
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 5:15 pm
Location: Waterville, Minnesota USA

Re: Autolinks for Hollywood forums

Post by SamuraiCrow »

Excellent!
I'm on registered MorphOS using FlowStudio.
User avatar
jPV
Posts: 600
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 10:44 am
Location: RNO
Contact:

Re: Autolinks for Hollywood forums

Post by jPV »

*air-guitaring*
PEB
Posts: 567
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 1:28 am

Re: Autolinks for Hollywood forums

Post by PEB »

Yeah, I guess it's alright; though we might have some problems when someone named DISPLAY or REQUIRE or VERSION join the forums.

Here are some tests:

@DISPLAY welcome to the forums!

@REQUIRE that's a great question, but you should include a short sample of your code.

@VERSION I think you'll find your answer in the documentation found here: @VERSION

. . .

But seriously, very cool new feature! Thanks, Andreas.
User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 5425
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Autolinks for Hollywood forums

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

Btw, the autolink will also automatically adapt the spelling of the function/method/attribute name to the canonical one which is another useful feature :)

And ambiguous attribute and method names are also recognized now. You have to prefix those with either "MUIRoyale." or "RapaGUI." to tell the autolink script which plugin you are referring to. Example:

RapaGUI: see Window.Title
MUI Royale: see Window.Title

I have also adapted the original posting to contain this new information.
User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 5425
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Autolinks for Hollywood forums

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

Btw, with the new autolink feature it's even more important to encapsulate your code in [code] ... [/code] blocks. Otherwise autolinks might highlight parts of your code which will look a little strange, see here: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=2366

All code that is encapsulated inside [code] ... [/code] will be ignored by autolinks so that's what should be done.
User avatar
Clyde
Posts: 348
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 12:38 pm
Location: Dresden / Germany

Re: Autolinks for Hollywood forums

Post by Clyde »

Very neat and handy feature; thanks!
Currently using: Hollywood 9 with Windows IDE and Hollywood 9 with Visual Studio Code and hw4vsc
User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 5425
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Autolinks for Hollywood forums

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

Autolinks also recognizes the acronym MCVE now!
Post Reply