Feature requests

Forum for discussion about the Windows IDE of Hollywood
mrupp

Feature requests

Post by mrupp »

Hi there

I'm quite new to Hollywood and I'am using the Windows IDE. It's very nice in general, I especially like the list of functions for quick access and the F2 feature. Here are some ideas to improve it even further. With the exception of the last item, they are small (or small-ish) things that would help us coders a lot, imho:

1. Support for Ctrl-Tab shortcut
Because I'm used to it from so many other editors like Notepad++, Visual Studio, VisualStudio Code and others, by instinct I'm trying to switch between open tabs using the Ctrl-Tab shortcut. Unfortunately, this doesn't work with the Windows IDE and I always end up entering a tab character.

2. Improving "Search"
Calling "Search", it would be nice if the currently selected text would be pasted into the search field automatically. If multiple lines are selected, it's enough to use the first line.

3. Improving "Search" some more
When searching, I usually don't care if the text I'm looking for is above or below the current cursor. I would suggest an option (checked by default) called "Wrap around" (deutsch: "Am Ende von vorne beginnen") to restart the search when reaching the end (or beginning if searching backwards) of the file. To avoid an endless loop, the search would finish when reaching the place where it started, of course ;) . Again, see Notepad++ as a reference.

4. Search history
Again, being used to it from Notepad++, a search history would be nice, the search field would then be changed into a combobox and one could flick through previous search strings using arrows up and down. Maybe these search strings might even be preserved and still be there when returning to the IDE the next day. Alright, that last one (the preserving) is really just a nice-to-have.

5. Shortcut for "Replace"