Page 1 of 1

Run() doesn't work on Linux Arm?

Posted: Tue May 12, 2020 11:16 pm
by midwan
Using Hollywood 8.0, RapaGUI.
I'm trying to launch another executable, when a button is clicked.
I wrote a minimal program to test this, and although it behaves as expected on Windows, the Linux Arm compiled target doesn't.

I used RapaGUI to build a front-end that would run on Linux Arm (Raspberry Pi, Buster Desktop specifically), and a minimal event handler just to test out this proof-of-concept idea.

The event seems to be triggered correctly when I run this on Windows, and things look OK.
However, when I compile the linuxarm target and run this on the RPI, I get the GUI and button normally, but clicking on it doesn't actually run the application it's supposed to. It doesn't seem to react at all.

To be sure the event is actually triggered, I added a SystemRequest() call right before it, which does show up as expected.
But still, the Run() command after it does not.

Am I missing something here?

Re: Run() doesn't work on Linux Arm?

Posted: Wed May 13, 2020 2:40 pm
by midwan
Forgot to mention that the executable I'm trying to run is in the same directory as my test tool.
I've tried specifying it as Run("runme"), Run("./runme") and even Run("~/projects/runme"), but it didn't seem to make a difference...

I've also tried running my test tool under sudo, but again, made no difference.

Re: Run() doesn't work on Linux Arm?

Posted: Wed May 13, 2020 8:56 pm
by SamuraiCrow
Could it be a permission problem in the Linux filesystem? Make sure the execute permissions are set for everyone.

Re: Run() doesn't work on Linux Arm?

Posted: Wed May 13, 2020 9:12 pm
by midwan
I've checked the permissions, they are set for a+x (I set them myself).

And I've also tried setting the full path to the executable, just in case - still no luck.

However, I tested running something else instead, and that seems to work (I tried "chromium-browser"), so at least the issue does not seem to be generic. I can't figure out why it won't work on my own binary I'm trying to run however, as I can execute that normally both from the console and the File Manager... :-/

Re: Run() doesn't work on Linux Arm?

Posted: Fri May 15, 2020 2:16 pm
by airsoftsoftwair
Does using Execute() instead of Run() make a difference?

Re: Run() doesn't work on Linux Arm?

Posted: Fri May 15, 2020 5:26 pm
by midwan
Nevermind guys, for some weird reason it works for me now.. :P
The only change I made was to use a Textfield where I could type in the executable name I wanted, then parse that into a variable and use Run() using the variable. Before this, I had the text hardcoded inside the Run() call, like this:

Code: Select all

Run("./myfile")
Which didn't work for me.

But now I have it like this:

Code: Select all

Local s$ = moai.Get("path", "text")
Run(s$)
Both with Run() and Execute(), this approach works.

Re: Run() doesn't work on Linux Arm?

Posted: Sat May 16, 2020 12:12 am
by SamuraiCrow
Maybe it's a Unicode thing or the slash needs to be dead-keyed.