are textobjects usable even without layers on?

Discuss any general programming issues here
Post Reply
Bugala
Posts: 915
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 7:11 pm

are textobjects usable even without layers on?

Post by Bugala »

I have always assumed Textobjects require Layers on, but now that I tried putting disable layers before making one, it worked fine.

So is it then so that I can make textobjects even without layers turned on, and I can also use all those displaytextFX commands, and movetextobject etc. things even without turning layers on?

User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 4213
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: are textobjects usable even without layers on?

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

Sure you can. Nobody ever said that text objects require layers. In fact, CreateTextObject() was already present in Hollywood 1.0 while layers were introduced in 1.5.

Bugala
Posts: 915
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 7:11 pm

Re: are textobjects usable even without layers on?

Post by Bugala »

That's really great to hear!

Those Textobjects will be very useful. I had already couple of times thought that what a sad thing I cant use the FX system since layers were turned off, but it seems I actually could have used.

This will make things much easier. That text object is very handy in many places, especially when making something like speech bubbles.

Post Reply