Probs with OpenURL

Discuss any general programming issues here
Post Reply
evil
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 1:38 pm

Probs with OpenURL

Post by evil »

Hello!
OpenURL does not work here under OS4

Code: Select all

openurl ("http://www.amiga-news.de/")
waitleftmouse()
this code does simply nothing.
OpenURL is installed.
calling openURL "http://www.amiga-news.de" in a shell works fine.

AFAIR i used this function some years ago...


Regards

George

User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 4318
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Probs with OpenURL

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

Works here. Can you post your OpenURL config? (see SYS:Prefs/OpenURL) I've tested it using Odyssey with the following setting in SYS:Prefs/OpenURL:

Code: Select all

Name: Odyssey
Path: System:Apps/Odyssey/Odyssey "%u"
Works fine both from shell and from Hollywood.

evil
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 1:38 pm

Re: Probs with OpenURL

Post by evil »

Oh man.... It simply was too late... I used a wrong config in Openurl Prefs...
Ironically it worked from the shell...
Sorry for the inconvinience!

Thanks and best regards

George!

User avatar
jPV
Posts: 364
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 10:44 am
Location: RNO
Contact:

Re: Probs with OpenURL

Post by jPV »

Mmmh.. so OpenURL isn't included in OS4 by default... at least I get "Cannot open openurl.library!" on my default OS4.1FE setup. I noticed once that there is a URLOpen command instead, and some URL config in the Prefs drawer.

I've forgotten to ask that should Hollywood be using this URLOpen thing on OS4, which seems to be default? I don't remember seeing any requirement for the OpenURL library in Hollywood documentation either...

I've now made my own p_OpenURL() function to check for OS4/URLOpen in my code, so my programs will work on default OS4 installation, but of course it would be nice if Hollywood's OpenURL() function would just work out of the box too.

User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 4318
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Probs with OpenURL

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

Might be a good idea, I'll check.

User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 4318
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Probs with OpenURL

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

Code: Select all

- Change [OS4]: OpenURL() no longer uses openurl.library but AmigaOS4.1's launch-handler, which can be
  configured using SYS:Prefs/URL, now

Post Reply