resource consumption

Find quick help here to get you started with Hollywood
Post Reply
sinisrus
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 5:43 pm

resource consumption

Post by sinisrus »

Hello,

is there a way to know which place in the script consumes the most?

Thank you
User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 5433
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: resource consumption

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

What do you mean by "place"?
sinisrus
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 5:43 pm

Re: resource consumption

Post by sinisrus »

...which part of the code consumes the most
Bugala
Posts: 1178
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 7:11 pm

Re: resource consumption

Post by Bugala »

Not directly, but depending upon command, you can try looping it several times and see how much time it takes.

For example if you have graphics, you could draw and remove that same graphic thousand times and see how much time it took, or if you have some calculations, you can do taht same calculation maybe billion times? and see how much time it took, and same with some general commands, make a guess how much time that command takes and then do that command thousand to billion times and measure how long it took.

It isnt very handy way to do it, but that is one way to get some info about it.

And of course you can also keep repeating some subroutines of yours, like if there is something like a page change subroutine you have made, you could do that thousand times and see how long it takes, then maybe change couple of commands there and measure again how long it takes to do that subroutine thousand times.

Code: Select all

for n = 1 to 1000
mysubroutine()
next
User avatar
airsoftsoftwair
Posts: 5433
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: resource consumption

Post by airsoftsoftwair »

Well, code itself doesn't consume much space... it's what the code does that consumes space :)
Post Reply